more bread! and I still have a kitchen aid

I made challah today. It’s basically an egg bread that you’re supposed to eat on jewish holidays. Pretty delicious. My aunt gave me this cook book like 5 years ago and I never used it, until today. I wasn’t that impressed. It was your basic challah recipe, but the recipe said to refrigerate the dough to rise overnight and I only realized this halfway through making the bread. But I got impatient and just made it after 2 hours. It was…. okay.

 

I MIGHT have and organizational problem…

Image

 

 

happy yeast 🙂

Image

 

 

 

1 cup flour…

Image

 

 

2 cups flour…

 

Image

 

 

3 cups flour….

 

Image

 

 

4.5 cups flour and the cup of water that was in the ingredients list but not in the directions…

 

Image

 

 

pre-kneading

 

Image

 

 

post-kneading

 

Image

 

 

ready to rise

 

Image

 

 

exploding from bowl

 

Image

 

 

punched down

 

Image

 

 

ready to be braided… ooohhh ahhhhh

 

Image

 

 

post-braiding, pre-pre-oven rising and glazing (this is a 5 braid. I’m very proud of it.)

 

Image

 

 

ready for the oven!

 

Image

 

 

 

tadahhhhh!!!

Image

 

 

it really needs salt. like REALLY badly. but at least it’s pretty 🙂

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

